Hot Water

How to get your Soldier/Son in Hot Water

Friday, I was trying to plan my trip to Ft. Hood to see David before he left. He had not checked his emails in three days and I have no phone number for him.

All I needed to know was the time for his pre-manifest at the gym. I called his FRG and was told that only family members could give out that information.

So, I sent an email to Rear Detachment, hoping for an answer before I left Houston.

The clock was ticking… Growing desperate, I called Ft. Hood directory and asked for the phone number for the Rear Detachment for his unit. I laughed and joked with the operator, who was very helpful in giving me directions around the base.

I then called who I thought was the Rear Detachment for the 4-9. The call went like this:

“Matlock”

“Yes, Sir, I am trying to find the time of my son’s Pre-manifest.”

“Why didn’t your son give you this information?”

“Well, Sir, He shut off his cell phone and we have been out of contact.”

“Ma’am, I have no way of knowing if you are who you claim to be and your connection to this Soldier.”

“Sir, if you would like I will fax a copy of my ID and pertinent information.”

“Do you think I have nothing better to do than to search for a fax machine?”

“I apologize. Would it be easier if I scan my ID and send it in an email?”

“Yes, that will be acceptable.”

I had no idea who I was talking with… but, was sure he was in a very bad mood.

About 10 minutes later I get a call from Capt. Whitman, the CO for the Rear Detachment. He was fantastic. Passed on all the information that I needed and chatted with me for a few minutes about my son.

About 10 minutes after that I got a call from my ‘darling’ son:

“Hello Princess.” (What did he just call me???)

“Hi, David. How are you doing?”

“Um Mom, How did you get the Col’s number?”

“What Col.?”

As it turns out, The Man who answered “Matlock” is Col Patrick Matlock, the son-in-law of Gen. Tommy Franks. And he was not amused with answering my questions.

Lesson learned…. (for David) I will go to the CiC if necessary to reach you!

We are missing you already… Please be careful… Oh yes, forgot to mention. My contact person let me know where you are this morning! 😉

4 Responses to Hot Water

  1. Scott Matlock says:

    This is quite funny. My brother is not normally this short with people. I am going to forward this to my mother and father who am sure will find it quite entertaining.

    Scott Matlock

  2. cavmom says:

    If for any reason this post makes it back to your brother, please tell him, “With all due respect, Moms outrank Generals!”

    He and his Soldiers are in our prayers.

  3. brat says:

    Don’t mums outrank everybody? They do in MY book. And yes – great day when our kids really ‘get’ that mum will go as high as it takes to find them. Great post. Thanks for the laugh!!! NEXT! Brat of course…(ID is in the mail?;) )

  4. Nichole says:

    That’s hilarious. I wish I had found your blog along time ago! I was in D, 4-9.

Leave a Reply

