Wednesday Hero

My hero with one of his little brothers.Always the big bro! 

As a new supporter of Wednesday Hero, I feel awkward with this being my first post. Bare with me when I share my thoughts on Parents as Heroes.  

We the parents of sons and daughters in the military, are just like the thousands, if not millions, of other parents in the world. We all have the exact same hopes and dreams for our children.

We all want our children to be happy productive members of society. We want our children to find someone special, get married, give us some beautiful grand babies to brag about…

And then one day, out of the blue … our child says those words. The words that infuse both fear and pride in our hearts. “Mom, I’m enlisting.”

My child did not ask me if it was a good idea, nor did he wait for a response. His decision was his alone. Although, I was concerned, (that will never go away) the pride I felt is indescribable. Too many questions jolted my mind like a bad session of Pong.

You must be as old as dirt to know of that game.

My son, is my Hero. He shakes his head and rolls his eyes when I say those words. The facts do not lie. He is the one who stepped up. It was not I. He does not see his life in such a way, but he is My Hero!

(now, if I can only get him to send the picture… Yes, David I am still waiting … and I am patient. However, I am close to digging thru my old albums and posting the cowboy picture in place of the promised one.)

Not meaning to diminish the sweet gesture… I am humbly stepping back and letting my Son have the light he deserves. 

Every once and awhile I’ll do a Wednesday Hero that doesn’t profile a single soldier. Sometimes it’s been two or three from the same unit, sometimes it’s been an entire group of soldiers like the Navajo Code Talkers. I even did an organization once, Operation Iraqi Children. This weeks Wednesday Hero is one of those sometimes. This weeks Wednesday Heroes are the parents of soldiers.

These people sacrifice just as much, if not more, than the soldiers themselves. They, in many cases, are having their babies leave home for the first time in their lives. While most parents only have to adjust to them moving a few miles away or going off to college, these Blue Star Parents have to watch their children go off to a very dangerous situation and can only hope and pray that everything will turn out okay. I don’t have children of my own, so I can’t even imagine what that is like. We have a few Blue Star Parents in the blogroll, so to them, and every parent of a Hero, I tell you we all stand with and support you and your family.There’s a site that everyone should check out if they haven’t already. Blue Star Mothers Of America.

These brave men and women sacrifice so much in their lives so that others may enjoy the freedoms we get to enjoy everyday. For that, I am proud to call them Hero.
We Have Every Right To Dream Heroic Dreams.
Those Who Say That We’re In A Time When There Are No Heroes, They Just Don’t Know Where To Look

This post is part of the Wednesday Hero Blogroll. If you would like to participate in honoring the brave men and women who serve this great country, you can find out how by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

