My L’il Trooper

Today I am simply writing about my L’il Trooper. For those who do not know my son and our relationship, I should make some clarifications. My son is not little. At 6′ 3″ and 200lbs (and some change), he is far from little.

I use the silly terms of endearment for two reasons:

1.) I find it hilarious

and

2.) The names make him grimace. I can almost hear him mumble, “Mom don’t say that.”

Without completely embarrassing him (I will do that gradually over the next 30 or 40 years), let me tell you a bit about my eldest son.

David gave up a lot at a young age, stepping in and helping to raise his two younger brothers. It saddens me that he gave up so much of his youth. He has always excelled in everything he has tried from football and wrestling to academics. David has set the bar high for his brothers and they, thru his example are reaching for the stars. 

I have typed and deleted a gazillion things I want to say. However, at the thought of sounding like a typical Mom, blinded by personal prejudice, I will stop with this sentiment:

My Cav Trooper Rocks!!!

…and because I enjoy humor at his expense, I am throwing in an early training photo:

David with his younger brother, Jared … They were practicing blending in with their environment. Do you think all Army Scouts began this way?

What an awesome big brother! Two gorgeous young men if I don’t say so myself!

Don’t ya just want to give him a hug?

(Hey David, shall I go on? You know I have hundreds and I love to share!)

I was once asked by another Mom, “Does he know how to let off the throttle?” David only knew one speed when racing and that was Full Throttle.

Kicking back and relaxing… at the tender age of two!

This is not meant as blackmail. If that were the case, I would have posted the diaper shots, the singlet pics, or perhaps the COWBOY pose!

Are you ever going to send me the requested picture?

Love you way much son!

9 Responses to My L’il Trooper

  1. Mary*Ann says:

    David, you really should send your Mom the requested picture…speaking as a Mom…there are limits on our restraint…and the urge to show pictures…is hard to control. She has certainly given you fair warning 😉

    Thank you for your service, and for giving your Mom so much to blog about!

  2. cavmom says:

    I am not sure why he does not like the cowboy picture. I had to plead with him to keep him from shreading it a couple years ago.

    The picture is adorable. (that must be the problem) 🙂

  3. Tracy says:

    Now I really want to see this cowboy picture! LOL Great pictures cavmom!!

    David, thank you for your service and being the kind of man your mom wants to write about!!

  4. Ronin says:

    A touching and well-earned tribute not only to your son but all our service men and women. We need to show the world what and who real Americans are. I am just glad you are not my mother as I am not man enough to endure all the heckling your son will get when his friends see those photos. J/k, God Bless you and your family.

  5. also a mom of 4-9 solider says:

    I think it is great to show such humor. Our kids who grew up to be heros should be honored. My son is side by side as well with yours.Our family is keeping all soliders in our prayers and thoughts. He has true character!
    mom of soilder too!

  6. cavmom says:

    He is not buckling. For some strange reason I don’t scare him. 🙂

    Awwww Ronin, as a child he has learned to endure my twisted humor. The perks make up for it!

    One day I will scan the copy of the ransom note I sent his CO!

  7. Ronin says:

    Cavmom, keep that boy in line 🙂 My mother did the same too me. Must be a military mom thang.

  8. cavmom says:

    also a Mom of a 4-9 Soldier: Big hugs to you and your family. Your Soldier is in our prayers.

  9. Susan says:

    You are too beautiful for words, CavMom. God bess you and your son.

Leave a Reply

