A Mother’s Day Message

I will be away from the computer for the weekend. No TV, No Radio, No Cell Phones… (OK, I am bringing mine just in case my L’il Trooper calls) But, we will not be fielding any work calls.

We are taking two glorious days off to sit at the cabin. It is supposed to rain there all weekend, which is perfect! We love sitting in the screened-in porch and watching the storm rattle around us. If the rain lets up a bit, we might wander down to the pier and try to catch a fish, or a turtle, or a gator.

If you get the chance, give your mom a hug today.

And to my L’il Trooper – – – I saved the box of chocolates that you gave me. I will be thinking of you while I devour them. Thanks again!

We Love and miss you something awful.  

The following story was sent to me by my dear friend LDEVON… (you are the best at keeping me falling out of the chair laughing hysterically!)

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL OF YOU!

We had this great 10 year old cat named Jack who just recently died.  Jack was a great cat and the kids would carry him around and sit on him and nothing ever bothered him. He used to hang out and nap all day long on this mat in our bathroom.

We have 3 kids and at the time of this story they were 4 years old, 3 years old and 1 year old. The middle one is Eli. Eli really loved chapstick. LOVED it.

He kept asking to use my chapstick and then losing it. So finally one day I showed him where in the bathroom I keep it. He needed to put it right back in the drawer when he was done.
Last year on Mother’s Day, we were having the typical rush around and try to get ready for Church with everyone crying and carrying on. My two boys are fighting over the toy in the cereal box. I am trying to nurse my little one at the same time I am putting on my make-up.

Everything is a mess and everyone has long forgotten that this is a wonderful day to honor me and the amazing job that is motherhood.
We finally have the older one and the baby loaded in the car and I am looking for Eli. I have searched everywhere and I finally round the corner to go into the bathroom. And there was Eli. He was applying my chapstick very carefully to Jack’s . . . rear end.

Eli looked right into my eyes and said “chapped.”

Now if you have a cat, you know that he is right–their little butts do look pretty chapped. And, frankly, Jack didn’t seem to mind.
And the only question to really ask at that point was whether it was the FIRST time Eli had done that to the cat’s behind or the hundredth.

And THAT is my favorite Mother’s Day moment ever because it reminds us that no matter how hard we try to civilize these glorious little creatures, there will always be that day when you realize they’ve been using your chapstick on the cat’s butt.

8 Responses to A Mother’s Day Message

  1. Gawfer says:

    Happy Mother’s day Cav Mom.

    Blessings to you, your family and your soldiers!

  2. Terri says:

    Happy Mother’s Day my friend.

  3. Deborah Aylward says:

    Dear Cav Mom: Thank you, God Bless you, and Happy Mother’s Day. All the best from a supporter and friend of our Troops.

    Veritas et Fidelis Semper
    Toronto, Canada

  4. didyouseethis says:

    Happy Mother’s Day CavMom…great story! ‘Tis a great friend that can make you laugh!

  5. I enjoyed the story. Happy Mother’s Day…a day late, maybe. But sentiments are current.

    lauriekendrick.wordpress.com

  6. cavmom says:

    Thank you to all for the kind words. My weekend, which was already so nice, was made extra special by a phone call from Iraq.

    My wonderful L’il Trooper called to wish me a Happy Mother’s Day. I am truly blessed to have such a wonderful son.

    (David, do you forgive me yet, for sharing your baby pics with the world?) 🙂

    I Luv you son.

  7. juust wanted tosay..
    love your story and thanks for the laugh.. kids and cats.
    my son is in the northeast corner of iraq. havent heard from him in awhile.. knowing how busy they get..
    just wanted to say thank you for the laugh.. i neede that. ill never look at chap stick agian in the same way. lol
    if you get the chance tellthe 6-9 cav that invisible mom was here..
    pvt woodard will understand. he named me invisible mom. before he left ..
    great guy.. well there all great armt they,
    keep with the stories.. hope you keep them of disk.. iam sure you rtrooper will
    love reading this.
    tootoles cindy woodard. of muskegon mich,

  8. cavmom says:

    Cindy Woodard ~ Hugs to you! It is tough on us when they don’t get the chance to check in on a regular basis. It is the knowledge that they are so well trained (and lots of prayers) that keep us almost sane.
    🙂

    As for my L’il Trooper… Not too sure I want him to read all that I have written. 😀

Leave a Reply

