Memorial Day at the Houston National Cemetery

It is hard to explain the full range of emotions that I felt while in the presence of those who had served, while honoring those who made the ultimate sacrifice.

I felt as if I was in the middle of the largest, most loving family in the world. The veterans were quick to offer a handshake, a hug, and a shoulder to lean on while we shared the tears.

They shared pictures and memories of buddies who were no longer with us.  

And they were quick to offer their thanks for my L’il Trooper and the guys serving with him. Son, I have been asked to tell you: “Young man, be careful. We plan on meeting you face to face and shaking hands with you next year.”

It took me a few tries (heading east when I should have gone south) to find Uncle Joseph’s grave site.  I know that you are sitting on high, keeping a sharp eye out for the men and women in the battle. Today, I reflected on the fire in your eye when we discussed David going to Iraq. I swear, if you could have mustered the strength to stand, you would have found a way to salute him when the plane left Texas. Dear Uncle Joseph, we know your heart has always been with the troops.  We miss you and love you very much.

I am going to post a few pictures from the day… I will add more as time allows.

A couple words from Texas Governor Rick Perry:

Let us pause today as one to reflect, to recall, to revere, to remember them and their families. Let us never forget the responsibility the men and women of the armed forces bequeath to each and every one of us. It is the responsibility that we have each day to look within and to go beyond, to in some way contribute to this great nation and its future.

The Riderless Horse

1st Cav Veteran Vietnam

Marine Veteran Vietnam

Zeke – WWII Veteran. He shared the story of his wonderful wife of 47 years, who is buried at HNC. She said if Zeke was good enough to serve this country, he was good enough to marry.

Members and family of the Vietnamese Troops who fought at our side. They were a wonderful group to meet and share hugs.

 

These two Marines showed me that Marines do know how to smile. They had me holding my side from laughter. (No, I won’t share what they said about the Navy)

Houston Chapter ~ Special Forces (Some of these men could still kick some serious butt!)

I had to share my disdane for “Jane Traitor Fonda” before I was welcomed to a hug from these two “hard core Patriots”

Our Future!

I offer a special hug to all who made this day one that I will never forget. God Bless the men and women who have served this great nation!

6 Responses to Memorial Day at the Houston National Cemetery

  1. didyouseethis says:

    God bless them all.

  2. Thanks for sharing the pictures! They are wonderful! I can imagine what those Marines were saying about the Navy….I know how they love to give each other a hard time. 🙂 My boys have shared a few of those jokes with me.

    All of our vets and those currently serving are in my prayers today and always.

  3. vince vitale says:

    Great pictures, I wish I had been there.

  4. cavmom says:

    The joking that went on was the joking amongst brothers.

    Vince ~ You were well represented. The Screaming Eagle was spotted on many caps. It was moving to see so many generations of Warriors together in one place.

    I also wanted to mention that Houston has been hit with very heavy rains for the past few days. Yet, the clouds parted and the entire ceremony was dry and sunny. Shortly after the crowds thinned, the skies again clouded over and the rain returned.

    ***side note ~ Thankfully there were no protesters around to ruin the occasion.***

  5. courtney says:

    Hi CavMom! Your pictures and write-up are great. It made me feel like I was there. Reading the captions and looking at the pictures made me smile; you can just tell that these are the Good folks that you want to talk with and befriend. You know, people like you and your family!

  6. Cher Stanley says:

    What great photos that tell a story of many generations. We should all stop to thank Vets from each War…and give them the hugs they deserve.

Leave a Reply

