Dear Dad,

Today I wanted to thank you for being my teacher, my hero, my Dad.

Thank you for helping me catch my first fish.

Thank you for teaching me how to fix a flat tire on my bike.

Thank you for coming over and showing me how to replace a broken window pane.

(and then replacing all of the broken panes in that old house for me.)

It was simple acts of love such as that, which gave me hope when I was feeling so discouraged.

Thank you for teaching me how to shine your Army boots.

Not so much the act of shining the boots… But, you taught me to take pride in the work that I do.

I was young, and you could have finished the boots yourself.

But, you took the time to teach me how to do a job the right way. 

This simple act gave me self confidence in my work and taught me to see a project thru to the end. 

Thank you for always being there with a hug and praise for a job well done.

Thank you for making me feel like a fabulous cook when you ate my rolls. 

Thank you for taking the time from your day to watch me run.

No matter how I placed, it felt wonderful to see your smiling face on the sidelines. 

Thank you for picking me up at the end of my paper route and buying me hot cocoa and a donut.

I still smile and think of you when I eat a maple long john. 

Thank you for pointing me in the right direction and then stepping back and letting me fall

and being there for support as I rose back up and accomplished every tough task in front of me.

A daughter could never have asked for or been blessed with a better Dad.

You were tough and taught me to be tough.

Yet, you were kind and taught me to love. 

Thank you Dad, without your guidance I would be floundering. For you taught me to stay close to the Lord;

to pray, to read the scriptures, and to listen to the spirit. 

Thank you Dad … for never giving up on me.

I love you.

Happy Father’s Day … You are the best!  

Leave a Reply

