Fighting Until the End

This post is for my fantastic L’il Trooper. Many will roll their eyes at us and what might be percieved as a ridiculous following of the NFL. It is not so much that I am a groupie. Nor do I feel the players should be looked upon as heroes or even role models. For us football is so much more. It is a beautiful distraction from the perils of war.

The light hearted ribbing that we toss back and forth during long distance phone calls, the stat wars, the perceived match-ups… All put us in a better place.

A place where my mind is not racing with frantic worry of IEDs, grenades, and endless projectiles aimed at my L’il Trooper and those who fight at his side.

While watching a game or discussing the dropped passes, the penalties, the hard hits that we could hear from our arm chairs… We are transformed to a better place for a while.

So here it is:

Lions Come Back From 16 Points Down to Take a 27-26 Preseason Victory From Cincinnati

Detroit’s starters played for much of the first quarter – quarterback Jon Kitna connected on 3-of-5 passing for 52 yards – but it was the second- and third-string players that saw most of the playing time. Quarterbacks J.T. O’Sullivan and Dan Orlovsky turned in performances of 225 and 220 passing yards, respectively, combining for three touchdowns and two interceptions.

Sorry the NFL package does not include preseason games and FOX aired the Cowboys Vs Colts game in place of the Lions game. 

I will tape all the regular season games for you.

Oh, and one more thing……

Go Chargers!

7 Responses to Fighting Until the End

  1. Terri says:

    I kinda like this color combination better. hehehehehe

  2. Terri says:

    Dang, it wouldn’t let me post my picture. 😦

  3. cavmom says:

    Probably because this is an anti-Cowboys site. 🙂 j/k

    Go CowGIRLS!

  4. Terri says:

    I’m NOT a Cowboys fan at all. You gotta remember, I’m just transplanted here. You’ll see the colors I bleed, tomorrow in my football post at ASM.

  5. CavMom says:

    looking forward to it!

  6. Tammi says:

    Hi CavMom,
    I do enjoy the NFL. The Manning brothers are my favorite to watch. I have to admit, I love college football too. The Big 12 Rocks and the Huskers are due for another National Championship!!!!!

  7. cavmom says:

    Tammi ~ I am a fan of Peyton. I enjoy his wit as well as his talent on the field. However, I will probably hold a grudge against Eli for life. It is a CHARGER thing.

    His disrespect on Draft day left a very bad taste in my mouth that I cannot seem to get rid of… *spit* No, it is still there. 😉

Leave a Reply

