Alas… He has been Called Home

 

Come Back To Sorrento
Guarda il mare com’e bello!
Spira tanto sentimento.
Come il tuo soave accento, che me desto fa sognar.
Senti come illeve salle, dai giardini odor d’aranci,
Un perfumo non v’ha eguale per chi palpita d’amore.
E tu dicro parto addio,
T’allontani dal mio core, questa terra del amore,
hai la forza di lasciar.
Ma non mi fuggir, non dar mi piu tormento, torna a Sorrento non farmi morir

Smiling leave I saw you taking
All that once you loved forsaken
and I felt my heart was breaking,
Oh how could you go away

Ma non mi fuggir, non dar mi piu tormento, torna a Sorrento non farmi morir

Although this is a love song, Pavarotti and Meat Loaf (who knew Meat Loaf sang opera?) were singing a tribute to the children torn by war.

I knew Pavarotti’s health was failing, that he was succumbing to a tragic end due to his cancer… Yet, today I am feeling a huge void in my heart.

If one were to search thru my extensive music collection, they would find everything from Sammy Hagar and Led Zeppelin to Eric Clapton and James Taylor – Bonnie Raitt and Jim Croce to Roger Miller and George Jones to The O’Jays and Marvin Gaye……………. and even old school some rap.

And yet I always turn to  Luciano Pavarotti , Jose Carreras, and Placido Domingo… when I need to calm the savage beast that rears it’s ugly head and tries to pull me to the dark side. Today, I will sit quietly and listen to Pavarotti and absorb his wonderful spirit. May he rest in peace. 

2 Responses to Alas… He has been Called Home

  1. kimiam says:

    I heard him sing one song. I’ll never forget.

  2. cavmom says:

    kimiam ~ That is an experience to cherish for life!

Leave a Reply

