Where is the Fire?

I was driving on the toll road last week when the front driver’s tire on my SUV blew. The sound alone almost made me pee my pants (I know… not very lady-like) I had to clutch the steering wheel tight as the darn thing was fighting to pull me into the other lane.


I pulled off to the shoulder and stepped out. I think I was out there for about 15 seconds when I had two offers to help change my tire. Yes, being a woman definitely has it’s advantages!

I made an astute observation while on the side of the road. People are idiots! 

Parked about 15 feet behind me on the shoulder was a Sheriff’s Dept car. The Deputy had turned his glaring red and blues on to warn other drivers. Another Officer from the Toll Road Authority pulled up in front of me. He too had his bright lights flashing. 

… And still the cars wizzed by at speeds that were shaking my SUV. The officer asked me to remain in my vehicle and keep my seat belt on. I did not have to be asked twice.  There must be a fire somewhere or maybe someone is giving away money.  Please tell me there is a logical reason as to why people were willing to risk the lives’ of the men who were helping me.

It was easy to see how Police Officers are clipped while giving tickets.  There is a law to prevent this from happening and I hope it is enforced more often. I did not see one car slow down or move to the other lane.

A new state law as of September 1, 2003. From the TX DPS web site, the law reads:

SB 193 requires drivers nearing a stopped emergency vehicle that has lights activated, unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer, to:Vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle, if the highway has two or more lanes traveling the direction of the emergency vehicle; or
 

Slow to a speed not more than 20 miles per hour (mph) less than the posted speed limit when the posted speed limit is 25 mph or more; or Slow to a speed not more than five mph when the posted speed limit is less than 25 mph. A violation is a punishable by a maximum fine of $200. If the violation results in property damage, the maximum fine increases to $500. If the violation results in bodily injury, the offense is enhanced to a Class B misdemeanor. 
  
Come on people… Y’all are going to kill someone and I don’t want it to be one of the nice Officers who helped me change my flat tire.  I might need them again one day. ;-)

5 Responses to Where is the Fire?

  1. How scary! Glad you’re ok. I think some people leave their brains at home when they get behind the wheel.

  2. wytammic says:

    Glad you’re okay too! Crazy drivers.

  3. cavmom says:

    Thanks Ladies! I am calling it ‘divine intervention.’ I could have easily been fiddling with the radio, adjusting my glasses, scratching my nose….

    If I had not had both hands on the wheel, I would have been pulled into the fast lane of traffic.

  4. DNR says:

    We have a law like that here. I probably piss people off by slowing to 40-45mph and move over.

  5. cavmom says:

    Thanks DNR ~ It really takes such a small effort to help protect the lives of those on the side of the road.

Leave a Reply

