My Brain is Mush

If you were to snuggle up on the sofa to read; wrapping up in a warm blanket with a fire roaring in the fireplace, a glowing light over your shoulder… slowly opening the book, prepared to become engrossed in a tale from times long ago. Only to find each and every page is blank… 

Then you would understand my state of mind. Life is good. The fire in my heart is burning brightly; the blanket around my soul offers comfort; my family’s love offers a warm glow.

Yet, I find myself staring blankly at the tv, the book, the computer screen.

Perhaps it is induced by the months on end of constant worry. The endless stress of my Li’l Trooper at war kept my mind churning, often in too many contrasting directions to come up with any coherent thoughts. But, it was constant motion.

… And now… My mind has shut down. I am able to complete only the most routine tasks of day to day life.

Last night I grilled a couple steaks, cooked corn on the cob and rolls. Mr. J was so sweet when he asked if I had fixed any potatoes or rice, maybe a salad?  Any of which would have been a nice touch, had the thought of preparing them actually entered my mind.

I wonder how long I will muddle along in the fog before I am shocked back into the real world? I should be grateful for the lack of turmoil, content with the peace. Yet, I feel disconnected.

While my brain is on vacation… (no smart comments from the peanut section -P ) I will be here, but not as vocal.

I do have a special request. There is an awesome Soldier who could use our prayers right now. I do not want him to feel awkward, so I will not share all his woes. Would you please add Chris and his family to your prayers. They could really use some happy, some comfort, some joy in their lives right now.

Hugs Out!

7 Responses to My Brain is Mush

  1. Leta says:

    Your brain and every other physical and emotional part of you DESERVES a break right now. No apologies necessary friend. Consider the large frozen lasagna from Stouffers for a while. LOL!

    Chris and his family will definitely be added to my prayer list.

    Hugs to you and MY L’il Trooper. Hmmmm…..I wonder why he hasn’t called me yet? LOL! LOL! LOL!

  2. Hello Friend,
    I am interested in providing encouragement to our veterans and the soldiers who have been wounded while protecting our great country. Additionally, I am interested in providing practical information and insight to assist their families. My name is Craig J. Phillips. I am a traumatic brain injury survivor and a master’s level rehabilitation counselor. I sustained an open skull fracture with right frontal lobe damage and remained in a coma for 3 weeks at the age of 10 in August of 1967. I underwent brain and skull surgery after waking from the coma. Follow-up cognitive and psyche-social testing revealed that I would not be able to succeed beyond high school. In 1967 Neurological Rehabilitation was not available to me, so I had to teach myself how to walk, talk, read, write and speak in complete sentences. I completed high school on time and went on to obtain both my undergraduate and graduate degrees. For an in depth view of my process please read my post, http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com/2007/02/18/my-journey-thus-far/

    Through out my lifetime I developed strategies to overcome many obstacles and in so doing I have achieved far beyond all reasonable expectations. On February 6, 2007 at the encouragement of a friend I created Second Chance to Live. Second Chance to Live, which is located at http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com presents topics in such a way to encourage, motivate and empower the reader to live life on life’s terms. I believe our circumstances are not meant to keep us down, but to build us up. As a traumatic brain injury survivor, I speak from my experience, strength and hope. As a professional, I provide information to encourage, motivate and empower both disabled and non-disabled individuals to not give up on their process. Please read my post, http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com/2007/04/18/the-power-of-identification/ My interest is to provide encouragement, hope, motivation and empowerment to veterans and their families

    Please encourage your readers to visit Second Chance to Live at http://secondchancetolive.wordpress.com and consider adding Second Chance to Live to your web site as a useful resource and placing a notice in your newsletter.

    Thank you for your time and kindness.

    Have a simply phenomenal day!

    Craig J. Phillips MRC, BA
    Second Chance to Live

    Our circumstances are not meant to keep us down, but to build us up!

  3. wytammic says:

    Perfectly understandable. The five cheese Stouffers lasagna is our favorite!

  4. SK says:

    I would think most people go through some form of auto pilot, after a long period of stress.

    As for dinner, I know you’re an awesdome cook who actually LIKES to spend time in the kitchen. You need to get over that anyway, you’re making the rest of us look bad:)

  5. cavmom says:

    Craig ~ Welcome to my little corner of the Web. I see that you have a great deal to offer the world. Hugs out to you for all that you have accomplished and all that you continue to do!

    Leta, Tammi, and Sher ~ My hubby said ya’ll are a bad influence on me! 😉 And he groaned at my suggestion of Frosted Flakes for dinner tonight.

  6. Leta says:

    Oh hell…give him fruit loops or cocoa puffs. He’ll love you forever. 🙂

  7. wytammic says:

    Lol! It’s not often I get accused of being a bad influence. 🙂 I think I like it, makes me feel like a rebel!

    My hubby has not worked since he had a serious work accident last year. However, he can now do housework and simply spoils me rotten. I have to admit, he knows just how to butter me up. Today for lunch he fixed me grilled cheese and tomato soup. I’ve been fighting a sinus infection and it really hit the spot. He’s not much of a cook, but all I have to do is come home and cook, and he cleans up my mess. I’m telling you, I’ve got it made around here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

