Military Families

April 26, 2007

I am a small and precious child, my dad’s been sent to fight…
The only place I’ll see his face, is in my dreams at night.
He will be gone too many days for my young mind to keep track.
I may be sad, but I am proud. My daddy’s got your back.

I am a caring mother. My son has gone to war…
My mind is filled with worries that I have never known before.
Every day I try to keep my thoughts from turning black.
I may be scared, but I am proud. My son has got your back.

I am a strong and loving wife, with a husband who had to go.
There are times I’m terrified in a way most never know.
I bite my lip, and force a smile as I watch my husband pack…
My heart may break, but I am proud. My husband’s got your back…

I am a Soldier… Serving Proudly, standing tall.
I fight for freedom, yours and mine by answering this call.
I do my job while knowing, the thanks it sometimes lacks.
Say a prayer that I’ll come home.
It’s me who’s got your back.

by Autumn Parker

Marriage is not an easy task under everyday challenges. It takes a labor of love

to keep the fire burning, the wheels rolling, the family fed, the bills paid,

The family healthy.

Now, face the same challenges while your loved one is at war.

The shoulder you would like to lean on…

That strength in which you pull from…

Is Fighting for all the World

So far from home

A Military wife is a cast from a special mold.

And then we have those who are raising a family…

This is a group of women that defies all the laws of weakness.

Who else is so gifted at explaining to a young child

that Daddy really is here with us at Christmas?

We just can’t see him.

Who else can persuade a teenager to step up and honor the family by excelling in school?

Who else is as skilled at creating distractions for the family …

keeping the fears and tears from creeping in?

The Military Family is an asset to our country.

They realize that sacrifices need to be made.

They know that goals must be met.

They remain strong in the face of adversity.

America will remain a strong country because Military wives are raising families with strong values.

I Salute you!

I am dedicating this day to the families of those deployed. I get a lump in my throat when I think of the young children smiling and waving flags. They are so proud of their Mommys and Daddys, yet you can detect the underlying uncertainty.

I would love to pick up each child and be able to reassure them that everything will soon be ok.

I would love to take each spouse, each loved one, out to dinner and calm their fears.

Their courage, while facing the home front battles, strengthens my resolve.

Thank you for being so strong and for showing ‘this Mom’ that we are here for each other.

Ya’ll Inspire Me!

Brigade Video

There it is night.  Here it is day.
While you are sleeping, I am at play
Running and laughing but stopping to say
I miss you, Daddy, when you are away

We may be mountains and oceans apart
So high and wide, but that’s OK
My love can find you wherever you are
(or how ’bout I meet you half way?)
I tell my heart, “Don’t be lonely” but it won’t obey
I miss you, Daddy, when you are away

At breakfast and dinner and bedtime we pray
For God to protect you and help you be brave

I smile and remember why you are so great….

Tickles and wrestling at the end of the day
Teaching me, Listening to the things that I say
Hugging me, Kissing all over my face
Fighting so bravely for the United States…

Oh, I miss you, Daddy, when you are away

We may be mountains and oceans apart
So high and wide, but that’s OK
My love can find you wherever you are
(or how ’bout I meet you half way?)
I tell my heart, “Don’t be lonely” but it won’t obey
I miss you, Daddy, when you are away

I miss you so badly when you are away
Keep fighting bravely for the United States 

by Karen Mason

(Tomorrow’s Good News Friday is on hiatus. Be assured, there is plenty of good news to share. However, I am spending a few days with My L’il Trooper and will be out of town, away from the news and the Internet.)